INTO THE UNKNOWN Mentawai TRIBE

BIRDS HEAD PENINSULA & TRITON BAY, WEST PAPUA

ВСЕ НАЧИНАЕТСЯ С ИДЕИ

В 2018 году Far Horizon организовали исследовательскую экспедицию в один из самых неизученных уголков индонезийской Западной Папуа - полуостров Чендравасих или Птичья голова. По слухам, именно здесь обитала ранее не контактировавший с людьми коренной народ, которые недавно вышли из джунглей, чтобы начать торговать. Обнаружив отдаленную деревню племени майраси, жители которой имели минимальный контакт с внешним миром, мы имели честь быть первыми иностранцами, кто когда-либо посещал это место. Мы подружились с племенем и собираемся поехать в новое путешествие, и приглашаем вас пойти с нами! Почувствуйте себя исследователем и окажитесь в одном из самых диких уголков планеты Земля! Величие и потрясающая красота на краю света!  

Что будет в этой экспедиции

  • Встретитесь лицом к лицу с изолированным племенем туземцев

  • Станете частью повседневной жизни племени - поохотитесь, поймаете рыбу и посмотрите как строятся традиционные дома.

  • Проведете несколько ночей в изолированной от цивилизации местности, которую раньше не посещали чужаки.

  • Посмотрите на звезды, которые видны только из южного полушария и послушаете шепот дикой природы

  • Услышите звуки джунглей, которых вы не найдете в Spotify.

  • Погрузитесь в истории старейшин деревни и станете свидетелем захватывающих танцев и таинственных ритуалов

  • Вас ждет поход через пышные тропические леса, где вы проложите свой путь с помощью мачете и почувствуйте себя Индианой Джонсом

  • Внимательно смотрите вокруг - здесь много эндемичных животных!

  • Древесные кенгуру, райские птицы и крокодилы, прячущиеся в реке.

  • Прыгнете в кристально чистую воду и попробуете догнать китовых акул и поплаваете с морскими черепахами

  • Вас изумит богатство коралловых рифов.

  • Станете Робинзоном Крузо и переночуете на необитаемом острове

  • Отправитесь в ночное путешествие по острову и попытаетесь разыскать морских черепах, несущих яйца

Это приключение для

  • Искателей приключений
  • Активных путешественников с широким кругозором
  • Людей в любом возрасте со средней физической подготовкой и хорошим здоровьем
  • Интересующихся культурой диких племен
  • Фотографов, которые хотят запечатлеть душу племени
  • Людей, которые любят активный отдых на природе
  • Для тех, кто неприхотлив и согласен на простые условия
  • Для людей, которым подлинный опыт важнее удобного дивана

Что брать с собой

Всегда будь готов! Девиз скаутов прост, но верен.  Эта экспедиция будет отличаться от обычного путешествия, поэтому убедитесь, что у вас есть с собой:

трекинговые ботинки, длинные быстросохнущие трекинговые штаны, трекинговые рубашки с длинными рукавами, легкая непромокаемая куртка, легкий спальный мешок, легкий надувной матрас, тренировочные перчатки, шлепанцы или сандалии, трекинговая шапка, удобный, водонепроницаемый рюкзак (60л), водонепроницаемый рюкзак (10л), сухие пакеты, репеллент от комаров, собственная аптечка первой помощи, таблетки против малярии, фонарь, запасные батарейки, складной нож или мультитул, витаминные добавки, энергетические батончики.

Мы предлагаем

  • Продолжительность: 13 дней / 12 ночей
  • Лучшее время для путешествия: XI - III
  • Погода:  жаркая и влажная с частыми дождями
  • Уровень сложности (1-10): 5
  • Уровень комфорта (1-10): 3
  • Будьте готовы к тому, чтобы  ночевке в простых условиях (палатки и местные хижины) и незамысловатой кухне (блюда, приготовленные поваром)
  • Начало путешествия: Джакарта, остров Ява
  • Ценовой диапазон: от USD 6000 / человека
  • Количество участников в группе: 6-10

  • Наличие тура:                 по запросу

ФАКТЫ О ЗАПАДНОМ ПАПУА

Крупнейшая и самая восточная провинция Индонезии, половина острова Новая Гвинея в южной части Тихого океана. Кстати, сам остров Новая Гвинея - второй по величине остров в мире!

Остров покрыт густыми джунглями, местность имеет очень сложный горный ландшафт. Западное Папуа является одним из наименее изученных мест в мире.

Здесь проживает более 250 разных племен, каждое из которых говорит на своем языке, и обладает уникальной культурой. Большинство коренного населения Папуа по-прежнему ведет традиционный образ жизни и практически не поддерживает контакт с внешним миром.

Это родина значительного числа эндемичной флоры и фауны, в том числе райских птиц, древесных кенгуру и самых гигантских в мире крокодилов!

Тропический лес на Папуа является одним из крупнейших и старейших в мире.

Самая высокая гора на острове, называется Пунчак Джая, 4884 м, также известная как пирамида Карстенса. Пунчак Джая включена в список Семи Вершин мира как самая первая (наиболее низкая) вершина.

ЗАПАДНОЕ ПАПУА В ЧИСЛАХ

СТОЛИЦА
ДЖАЯПУРА
ОБЩАЯ ПЛОЩАДЬ
319,036 км²
НАСЕЛЕНИЕ
3.347.100 млн
ПЛОТНОСТЬ НАСЕЛЕНИЯ
10 / км2

ПЛАН ЭКСПЕДИЦИИ ПО ДНЯМ

ДЕНЬ 1

ДЖАКАРТА - ДЖАЯПУРА / НОЧНОЙ ПЕРЕЛЕТ

Селамат Датанг или добро пожаловать в Индонезию! Вы прибудете в международный аэропорт Джакарты, где встретитесь с остальной участниками экспедиции. Все вместе вы сядете на самолета для ночного перелета на Папуа.

Размещение: ночь на борту самолета

План питания: ужин

ДЕНЬ 2

КАЙМАНА, ЗАПАДНОЕ ПАПУА

Приключение начинается сегодня! По прибытии в Каиману, прибрежный город в Западном Папуа, вы сядете на небольшую моторную лодку, чтобы переплыть массивный залив Агуми, а затем вверх по небольшим рекам вглубь джунглей добраться до точки назначения. По пути можно будет рыбачить, и, мы подадим вам на ужин улов дня. Вечером вы прибудете в отдаленную военную заставу, откуда вы переедете в деревню Кенси - ваш пункт назначения на сегодня. Здесь вы встретите наших носильщиков и местных гидов, которые будут сопровождать нашу группу в джунглях.

Размещение: палатки или местные дома

План питания: завтрак, обед, ужин

ДЕНЬ 3

В ДЖУНГЛЯХ

Рано утром вы сядете на деревянный грузовик, арендованный у деревенских жителей, и поедете по единственной дороге в этом районе до ее окончания. Отсюда начнется ваше путешествие в одни из самых диких джунглей в мире. После целого дня похода вы доберетесь в небольшую деревню одного из изолированных кланов племени Майраси. Деревня состоит всего из четырех домов, в которых проживает менее 30 человек. Здесь они тысячелетиями жили в полной гармонии с природой и в ограниченном контакте с внешним миром. Поскольку визиты посторонних являются редкими событиями для этого сообщества, жители деревни поприветствуют вас специальной церемонией. После этого вы вам предложат ночлег в одном из местных домов, где можно передохнуть после похода. Не стесняйтесь прогуляться по деревне и посмотреть на жизнь местных жителей. Вечером наш повар приготовит ужин, и день будет завершен.

Размещение: палатки или местные дома

План питания: завтрак, обед, ужин

ДЕНЬ 4 - 6

ЖИЗНЬ С ПЛЕМЕНЕМ МАЙРАСИ

Следующие три дня вы проведете, живя среди местных жителей и исследуя окрестности. Вы можете присоединиться к охотничьему отряду в джунглях, посмотреть, как местные жители делают саго и находят и пищу или поучаствовать в других повседневных делах племени. Попробуйте «еду в джунглях» - это может быть жареная змея, кабан или рыба из близлежащей реки. По вечерам сидите у огня и слушайте, как старейшины делятся своей мудростью и рассказывают истории. Слушайте звуки барабанов и присоединяйтесь к местным жителям в их традиционных танцах. Если вам повезет, вы можете стать свидетелем некоторых таинственных племенных ритуалов. Взгляните на чистое ночное небо, наполненное звезд, которые вы, возможно, никогда раньше не видели. Эти три дня будут полны моментов, которые определяют суть путешествия и наполнят вас незабываемыми воспоминаниями.

ПРИМЕЧАНИЕ: в деревне нет электричества, поэтому вам следует подготовить запасные батареи для вашей камеры или взять с собой солнечное зарядное устройство.

Размещение: палатки или местные дома

План питания: завтрак, обед, ужин

ДЕНЬ 7

ПОКИДАЯ ДЖУНГЛИ

Пришло время попрощаться с хозяевами и вернуться в Кенси. Через джунгли вы доберетесь до дороги, где вас должен ждать наемный пикап. Вечером вы прибудете в Кенси для ночевки. 

Размещение: палатки или местные дома

План питания: завтрак, обед, ужин

ДЕНЬ 8

НАЗАД В КАЙМАНУ

Сегодня вы сядете в речное судно и отправитесь обратно в Кайману. Поездка займет весь день. По прибытию вы будете проживать в лучшем отеле города, где можно будет принять горячий душ и спать на удобной кровати - маленькое, но приятное удовольствие современного мира.  

Размещение: Grand Papua Hotel или похожий отель, Каймана

План питания: завтрак, обед, ужин

ДЕНЬ 9

В ПОИСКАХ КИТОВЫХ АКУЛ

Еще один день, наполненный приключениями! Утром вы сядете на лодку, чтобы отправится для исследования залива Тритонов. Основная цель сегодняшней экскурсии - найти китовых акул, распространенных в этой районе. Немного удачи, подкрепленной ноу-хау нашего капитана и команды - и вы сможете обнаружить их на мелководье. Здесь можно поплавать среди этих могучих существ. Также здесь лучшие места для снорклинга с красивыми коралловыми садами. Перед заходом солнца лодка бросит якорь рядом с островом Бат, где вы будете разобьете лагерь, чтобы переночевать прямо на пляже.

Размещение: палатки на пляже

План питания: завтрак, обед, ужин

ДЕНЬ 10

ЗАЛИВ ТРИТОНОВ И ОСТРОВ ЧЕРЕПАХ

Wake up to the sound of waves and take a morning swim in the ocean. That should get you ready to set a course towards your next destination – a small, uninhabited island in the middle of Triton Bay. The island is a protected habitat of sea turtles that come there to lay eggs in its sandy beaches. When the hatching season comes, dozens of small turtles emerge on the beach and the dramatic run for their livers, trying to reach the ocean before getting spotted and eaten by predators. You will spend a quiet and relaxed day here, enjoying the beach, swimming in the ocean, snorkeling on the nearby reef, and looking out for the sea turtles.

Размещение: палатки на пляже

План питания: завтрак, обед, ужин

ДЕНЬ 11

ЗАЛИВ ТРИТОНОВ И ОСТРОВ ЧЕРЕПАХ ЧАСТЬ 2

Сегодня вам ничего не нужно делать, и вам никуда не нужно спешить. Наслаждайтесь идеальным ленивым днем на райском острове. Прогуляйтесь по острову, искупайтесь в кристально чистой воде, поплавайте с маской и трубкой, почитайте книгу или просто отдохните и расслабьтесь. Ночью вы можете сидеть у костра и смотреть на звезды или бродить по пляжу, освещая себе дорогу факелом, в поисках морских черепах, откладывающих яйца.

Размещение: палатки на пляже

План питания: завтрак, обед, ужин

ДЕНЬ 12

НАЗАД В КАЙМАНУ

Наслаждайтесь своим завтраком на пляже и готовьтесь к обратной дороге в Кайману. По прибытии в город, вас отвезут в отель для размещения на ночь.

Размещение: палатки на пляже

План питания: завтрак, обед, ужин

ДЕНЬ 13

ПРИКЛЮЧЕНИЕ ПОДХОДИТ К КОНЦУ

Сегодня утренним рейсом вы отправитесь обратно в Джакарту или Денпасар. Приключение заканчивается здесь. Спасибо за то, что вы были с нами.

Размещение: нет

План питания: завтрак

Счастливые Клиенты

{

Мы провели 5 дней с племенем Короваев, жили с ними в домиках на деревьях. Это было нечто. Far Horizon и Адам были потрясающими, я могу их рекомендовать. Они спланировали поездку нашей жизни.

- Ракиб Хасан

ru_RU
en_US ru_RU

INTO THE UNKNOWN Mentawai TRIBE

BIRDS HEAD PENINSULA & TRITON BAY, WEST PAPUA

EVERYTHING STARTS WITH AN IDEA

Back in 2018, Far Horizon organized a survey expedition to one of the most unexplored parts of Indonesian West Papua – the Bird’s Head Peninsula. We were following the rumours of the previously uncontacted group of indigenous people that recently came out of the jungle to trade. As a result, we came across the remote village of Mairasi tribe, whose dwellers had minimal contact with an outside world. We had the honour of being the first outsiders who ever visited that place, and we become very close to its inhabitants. We are going back there, and this time we are inviting you to come with us! Become an explorer and find yourself in one of the wildest corners of planet Earth! Behold the majesty and breath-taking beauty of the wildness at the end of the world!  

What will you experience

  • Stand face to face with an isolated, indigenous tribe

  • Be a part of everyday life – join tribesmen for a hunting, fishing and construction site

  • Spend a few nights in a remote village that has barely been visited by any outsiders before

  • Look at the stars you cannot see back at home and hear whispers from the wild

  • Listen to the sounds of a healthy jungle you can’t find on Spotify

  • Dive into the stories of the village’s elders, witness spectacular dances and mysterious rituals

  • Trek through the lush rainforest, cut your path through with a machete and feel like Indiana Jones

  • Keep your eye out for endemic animals!

  • Spot tree kangaroos, Birds of Paradise and crocodiles lurking in the river

  • Jump into the crystal clear water and try to catch up with whale sharks, sea turtles

  • Amaze yourself with the species richness of the coral reef

  • Become Robinson Crusoe and set a camp on the deserted island

  • Go on the night trip around the island and try to spot sea turtles laying eggs.

Who is this trip for

  • Drama-free adventure hunters
  • Active and open-minded travelers
  • People at any age with average physical fitness and health
  • Culture lovers who dream of discovering faraway tribes
  • Photographers who want to capture the soul of the tribe
  • People who love nature and prefer outdoor activities
  • Those who can bear simple traveling conditions
  • Those for whom authentic experiences are more important than a comfy couch.

What to prepare

Always be prepared! The scout’s motto is simple, but true.  An expedition is something a bit more special than normal travel so make sure you have:

proper jungle trekking boots, quick-drying, long jungle trekking pants, quick-drying, long sleeve trekking shirt, light waterproof jacket, light sleeping bag, light air mattress, training gloves, flipflops or sandals, trekking hat, comfortable, waterproof backpack (60L), personal, waterproof backpack (10L), dry-packs, mosquito repellent, own first aid kit, Malaranoe or other anti-malaria pills, torch and spare batteries, personal knife or multitool, vitamin supplements, power bars.

What do we offer

  • Duration: 13 days / 12 nights
  • Best time to travel: XI – III
  • Weather:  hot & humid with frequent rainfall
  • Difficulty level (1-10): 5
  • Comfort lever (1-10): 3
  • Be ready for:  jungle trekking, sleeping in basic conditions (tents, local huts), simple food (meals prepared by the expedition chef)
  • Departure location: Jakarta, Jawa
  • Price range: from 6000 USD/per person
  • The number of participants in the group: 6-10

  • Availability of the tour:                 on request

FACTS TO KNOW ABOUT WEST PAPUA

The largest and the easternmost province of Indonesia, compromising most of the western part of the island of New Guinea in the southern Pacific Ocean. By the way, New Guinea is the second-largest island in the world!

Covered mostly by dense jungle and mountains, this is why considered as one of the least explored places in the world;

Home to more than 250 diverse tribes, all speaking their own, unique languages with unique cultures. The majority of the indigenous population of Papua still live their traditional lifestyle and maintain limited contact with an outside world;

Motherland to a significant number of endemic flora and fauna, including Birds of Paradise, tree kangaroos, and the world’s most giant crocodiles!

The rainforest in Papua is one of the largest and oldest in the world;

The tallest mountain, Puncak Jaya, 4884 m, also known as Carstensz Pyramid, is the lowest peak of the Seven Summits;

WEST PAPUA in numbers

Capital city
Jayapura
Total area
319.036 km²
Population
3.347.100 mln
Population density
10 /km2

day-by-day itinerary

DAY 1

JAKARTA – JAYAPURA/OVERNIGHT FLIGHT

Selamat Datang, welcome to Indonesia! You will arrive at the international airport in Jakarta, where you will meet the rest of the expedition group. Together you will get on board another plane for an overnight flight to Papua.

Accommodation: overnight on the plane

Meal plan: dinner.

DAY 2

KAIMANA, WEST PAPUA

The adventure begins today! Upon your early arrival to Kaimana, a coastal town in West Papua, you will get on board a small motorized boat and set out for an all-day-long journey across massive Agumi Bay and then, up the tiny rivers, deep into the jungle. There will be some fishing opportunity on the way, and perhaps we will serve you for dinner the catch of a day. Late in the afternoon, you will arrive at the remote military outpost, where we will arrange transportation to Kensi village – your destination for today. Here you will meet our porters and local guides who will accompany us into the jungle. Accommodation will be in tents or local houses, and our cook will prepare all meals.

Accommodation: tents or local houses

Meal plan: breakfast, lunch, dinner.

DAY 3

INTO THE JUNGLE

Early in the morning, you will get on a wooden truck borrowed from the village and drive to the end of the only road in the area. Then you will get off the car, gear up, and venture into one of the wildest jungles in the world. After all day long trekking, you will reach a small village of one of the most isolated clans of the Mairasi tribe. The settlement consists of only four houses inhabited by less than 30 people, that have been living here in perfect harmony with nature and with limited contact with an outside world. As the visits by the outsiders are rare events for this community, the villagers should welcome you with a special ceremony. Then you will find your accommodation in one of the local houses where you will rest after the trekking. Fell free to stroll through the village and join locals with their activities. In the evening our cook will prepare dinner and the day will be complete.

Accommodation: tents or local houses

Meal plan: breakfast, lunch, dinner.

DAY 4 – 6

LIVING WITH THE MAIRASI TRIBE

You will spend the following three days living among your indigenous hosts and exploring the area around the village. You can join the hunting party into the jungle, see how locals make sago and find food in the wilderness or participate in other daily activities of these fascinating people. Try some of the “jungle food” – it could be a fried snake or a wild boar or a fish from the nearby river. In the evenings, sit by the fire and hear the elders sharing their wisdom and telling the stories. Listen to the sounds of drums and join locals in their traditional dances. If you are lucky, you might witness some of the mysterious, tribal rituals. Gaze at the clear sky full of stars that you might never have seen before. These three days will be full of moments that define the essence of traveling and shall fill you with unforgettable memories.

NOTE: The village has no electricity, so you should prepare spare batteries for your camera or bring a solar charger with you.

Accommodation: tents or local houses

Meal plan: breakfast, lunch, dinner.

DAY 7

LEAVING THE JUNGLE

It’s time to say goodbye to your hosts and get on your way back to Kensi. You will take another route through the jungle until the road, where the hired pickup should be waiting for you. In the evening you will arrive in Kensi where you will spend the night. 

Accommodation: tents or local houses

Meal plan: breakfast, lunch, dinner.

DAY 8

BACK TO KAIMANA

Today you will embark on the riverboat and start the full day journey back to Kaimana. Upon your arrival, you will be accommodated in the best hotel in town where you can take a hot shower and spend a night in a proper bed – small, but enjoyable pleasures of the modern world.  

Accommodation: Grand Papua Hotel or similar, Kaimana

Meal plan: breakfast, lunch, dinner.

DAY 9

TRITON BAY &  SPOTTING THE WHALE SHARKS

Another day of adventure! In the morning, you will get on board a private boat that will take you on a full-day trip to explore Triton Bay. The main purpose of today’s excursion is spotting the whale sharks that are common in this area. With a bit of luck supported by the know-how of our captain and the crew – you might spot them on the shallow waters so you could swim among those mighty creatures. You will also get to explore some of the best diving/snorkeling spots in the area where you can enjoy beautiful coral gardens. Before the sunset, your boat will drop an anchor next to Bat Island, where you will set a camp and spend the night directly on the pristine beach.

Accommodation: tents on the beach

Meal plan: breakfast, lunch, dinner.

DAY 10

TRITON BAY &  TURTLE ISLAND

Wake up to the sound of waves and take a morning swim in the ocean. That should get you ready to set a course towards your next destination – a small, uninhabited island in the middle of Triton Bay. The island is a protected habitat of sea turtles that come there to lay eggs in its sandy beaches. When the hatching season comes, dozens of small turtles emerge on the beach and the dramatic run for their livers, trying to reach the ocean before getting spotted and eaten by predators. You will spend a quiet and relaxed day here, enjoying the beach, swimming in the ocean, snorkeling on the nearby reef, and looking out for the sea turtles.

Accommodation: tents on the beach

Meal plan: breakfast, lunch, dinner.

DAY 11

TRITON BAY &  TURLE ISLAND PART 2

Today, there is nothing you need to do, and nowhere you need to be. Enjoy the perfect lazy day on the paradise island in the middle of nowhere. Take a walk around the island, take a dip in a crystal clear water, go snorkeling, read a book, or just sit back and relax. In the night, you can sit by the bone fire and gaze at the stars or get a torch and look for the sea turtles laying eggs.

Accommodation: tents on the beach

Meal plan: breakfast, lunch, dinner.

DAY 12

BACK TO KAIMANA

Enjoy your last breakfast on the beach, and get ready for a cruise back to Kaimana. Upon your arrival in town, you will drive to the hotel for dinner and accommodation.

Accommodation: tents on the beach

Meal plan: breakfast, lunch, dinner.

DAY 13

THE END OF THE ADVENTURE

Today you will take the morning flight back to Jakarta or Denpasar. The adventure ends here. Thank you for being there with us.

Accommodation: none

Meal plan: breakfast.

Happy Customers

{

“We spent 5 days with the Korowai people, lived with them in tree houses. This was anything like we have ever done before. Far Horizon & Adam were terrific I can recommend them highly. They have planned a trip of our lifetime. “

- Rakib Hassan

en_US
ru_RU en_US